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ABOUT THE
FLORIDA GAMING CONTROL
COMMISSION

The Florida Gaming Control Commission
is a five-member regulatory body that is
responsible for exercising all regulatory
and executive powers of the state with
respect to gambling, including pari-mutuel
wagering, cardrooms, slot machine
facilities, oversight of gaming compacts,
and other forms of gambling authorized
by the State Constitution or law, excluding
the state lottery.
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Division of Gaming Enforcement
4070 Esplanade Way, Suite 250
Tallahassee, FL 32399
www.flgaming.gov
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ILLEGAL
GAMBLING



www.flgaming.gov

What is a Gambling?

Florida chapter 849.08 defines gambling
as playing or engaging in any game at
cards, keno, roulette, faro or other game
of chance, at any place, by any device
whatever, for money or other thing of
value.

Is Gambling Legal In Florida?

Gambling in legal in licensed and
regulated locations in Florida. However,
with few exceptions, all other wagering,
outside of regulated places are strictly
illegal.

Can | Wager on Sporting Events
or Athletes?

Florida chapter 849.14 states it is
unlawful, and a felony to, “stake, bet, or
wager any money or other thing of value
upon the result of any trial or contest of
skill, speed or power or endurance of
human or beast.”

Am | Breaking the Law when |
Have Friends Over to Play
Cards?

Florida chapter 849.085 states penny-
ante game are allowed, and are defined
as a game or series of games of poker,
pinochle, bridge, rummy, canasta, hearts,
dominoes, or mah-jongg in which the
winnings of any player in a single round,
hand, or game does not exceed $10 in
value. Penny-ante games may occur at
someone’s home as long as they are not
receiving anything for allowing the game
to occur at their home, there are no

admission fees or any other fees required
to participate, the game may not be
advertised in any way, and no participants
may be under 18 years of age.

What is a Gambling House?

Florida chapter 849.01 states a
“Gambling house” is any place where a
gaming table or room, or gaming
implements are kept, used, or maintained,
or any place kept for the purpose of
gaming or gambling. Allowing any person
to play for money or anything else of
value is a second degree misdemeanor.

Are Minors or Mentally
Incompetent Persons Allowed to
Gamble?

Florida chapter 849.04 states a
“proprietor, owner, or keeper of any E. O.,
keno or pool table, or billiard table, wheel
of fortune, or other game of chance kept
for the purpose of betting, who willfully
and knowingly allows a minor or person
who is mentally incompetent or under
guardianship to play at such game or to
bet on such game of chance; or whoever
aids or abets or otherwise encourages
such playing or betting of any money or
other valuable thing upon the result of
such game of chance by a minor or
person who is mentally incompetent or
under guardianship, commits a felony.”

What About Bingo?

Florida chapter 849.0931 states that
Bingo games are legal for tax-exempt
charitable, nonprofit, or veterans’
organizations and the requirements and
restrictions placed on legally operating a

Bingo game are very stringent. Violating
the state laws on operating a Bingo game
can result in a first degree misdemeanor
up to a third degree felony.

RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH
OPERATING ILLEGAL GAMBLING

IN FLORIDA, THE PENALTIES IMPOSED FOR ILLEGAL
GAMBLING VARY BASED ON THE SPECIFIC OFFENSE

AND THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF EACH CASE

CHAPTER 849, FLORIDA STATUTES, SETS FORTH THE
CRIMINAL OFFENSES AND ASSOCIATED PENALTIES.

How to File a Complaint About an
lllegal Slot Machine or lllegal
Gambling

Email us at: TipLine@flgaming.gov

Call us at: 850-895-8125

Or file a complaint at:
www.flgaming.gov/file-a-complaint/
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